SMC WOMEN'S SOCCER CAMPS | Saint Mary's Stadium
Saint Mary's Stadium is the home to the men and women's soccer, and club rugby teams. Located in the southeast corner of campus with views of the rolling hills of Moraga, Saint Mary's Stadium seats 5,500 spectators in one of the most picturesque settings in the country.
The first game played at Saint Mary's Stadium was on September 22, 1973 as the Gael football team opened its season with a 35-0 victory over Southern Oregon. On that date, the Edward P. "Slip" Madigan Memorial Plaza was dedicated. Located in front of the Stadium, the Plaza was built in honor of the legendary coach who led the Gaels from 1921-1939 and guided the team to a victory in the 1939 Cotton Bowl.
In the fall of 2014, the field underwent a major renovation. More than 100,000 square feet of sod was laid in the stadium by Delta Bluegrass Company in mid-September under the direction of Mercado Landscaping. A turf consisting of Hybrid Bermudas was laid for the playing surface and a 90/10 Tall Fescue and a Special Shade Blend was installed on the outlying areas adjacent to the field. In addition, Ghilotti Bros., Inc. removed existing bleachers at the South end of the field to expand the size of the competition area. Soccer field dimensions were increased to 75 by 120 yards and landscaped grass berms were installed around two-thirds of the field.
The stadium also features a new state-of-the-art Daktronics scoreboard, which displays time, score and various statistical categories throughout the match. The specific information displayed on the board is customized for rugby matches during the spring.